FFL Gun Transfers
Generally, Federal law allows for private parties to engage in non-commercial gun sales to other private parties in their own state. This means if you own a gun, you usually can sell it to another person or a relative face to face, as long as that person isn’t prohibited from owning a gun. A simple bill of sale is all that is required in Florida.
However, once you have sold the gun, you will want to record the transfer of the firearm ownership to protect yourself in case that firearm is stolen or involved in any wrongdoing in the future. These are the broad aspects of FFL Transfers related to Florida. Check with your State for specific requirements as requirements may vary.
If you purchased a firearm from an online source, or from a private party out of state, or your state doesn’t allow private sales, you will need to do an FFL transfer between you and the seller. Oak Ridge Gun Range is here to be your licensed FFL dealer and has been helping customers for many year manage gun transfers. We will manage and complete the gun transfer and ensure that all necessary background checks are in order before we release the firearm.
How to complete a FFL Transfer
When using Oak Ridge Gun Range to process an FFL transfer please follow the steps below to help ensure a smooth transfer. Failure to complete these steps will cause a delay in processing your order.
First, finalize your purchase with the seller.
Seller gets a copy of their FFL to send to the Buyer. If a private party, they usually don’t need to see it. If a dealer, they’ll need to see a copy. Often your FFL dealer can fax or email that to the other party.
Buyers wait for the gun to arrive at Oak Ridge and for it to be logged into inventory. This might take a couple days in addition to shipping time.
Oak Ridge contacts the Buyer to come in and complete the appropriate paperwork.
FFL enters the firearm into their inventory.
Buyers come into the gun shop and complete the background check paperwork and pay a small fee. Bring your Concealed Carry Card (if applicable) and your drivers’ license. The fee for the transfer service is $40 plus $7 background check fee and is NOT included in your purchase transaction. Fees must be paid to the FFL Dealer at the time of transfer. If applicable the FFL Dealer may also reserve the right to charge Sales Tax on your gun total as well as the transfer fee.
The FFL Dealer will complete a background screening using the Florida Dept. of Law Enforcement system.
Once the background check is completed, the Buyer may pick up the firearm at the gun shop. At the time of pick up, you will need to arrive with all proper identification and documentation / licenses to show that you can legally purchase and possess the gun.
Buyer should closely inspect the gun and verify the make, model, caliber/gauge and condition matches with what you ordered before any paperwork is filled out.
Buyers and Sellers should both keep a copy of the bill of sale and FFL transfer paperwork (which includes the serial number) in a safe place.
START YOUR FFL TRANSFER WITH OAK RIDGE
FFL TRANSFER FORM
FFL Transfer Form
What an FFL is not
An FFL transfer is not a gun registration. It is a felony under Florida law to create, maintain or publish any list, record or registry of legally owned firearms or law-abiding firearm owners.
Outside of NFA weapons, the US Government does not register firearms. If you live in a state that requires registration of firearms, this would have to happen regardless of performing an FFL transfer. In other words, an ATF form 4473 is not a registration document. To find out more about ATF rules click HERE
To Find out if you are eligible to purchase a gun in Florida click HERE